A McCardell is a thing of beauty

Oh wow. My muslin is a mess. There is lots of loose orange basting thread, the seam allowances I provided are enormous and when I slip on the bodice and tug it a little around the waist so it nips in… I see it… the way the dress is supposed to look. Despite all the ickiness of the muslin bodice, a vision of the finished dress is starting to emerge. I have to unpick the basted pleats (again) and try and figure out where I am going wrong at the shoulders… but wow.

This is a dress I am going to love. Forever and ever! Created well before the famous Diane Von Furstenburg wrap dress, McCardell’s dress  has the same undated, elegant simplicity. No wonder her designs were such a stand out when Dior was reigning supreme.

I inspect the muslin again, yes I will trim the seam allowances, give the pieces a good press and perfect “the look”. The plaid silk taffeta, carefully packed away awaits… and begs…!

Dressmaking can be a slow process with a one year old to care for. But it gives me such pleasure to create. And always with a cup of tea or coffee on hand!

1940s tea cosy pattern available at my etsy shop, VanessaLovesVintage

Leave a comment