Sunday bathtime… a mummy blogs and a seamstress dreams

My son is having a bath. Thank you husband for bestowing me with this precious twenty minutes. I have after so many months been determined to blog… well here I am at last! I find so much inspiration in other sewing and vintage fashion blogs, its wonderful to be able to share some of my musings.

G shorts

It seems like the sewing projects have been moving pretty quickly, most probably because I am picking the quick and easy over the gorgeous and time consuming. I was particularly pleased with my last two completed projects: (1) a pair of Summer shorts (elasticised waist- yeah I said quick and easy) for Little prince, but honestly I really love how they worked out in this gorgeous remnant of Indonesian cotton; and (2) I made both versions A and E/F of new Look 6345 and version E/F (shorter length, no tabs) has become a staple go to of my mummy-on-the run wardrobe. I love that its feminine and floral and I can throw on a tshirt and wear it in flats or heels (for work). I was less enamoured with version A, though both fit comfortably below the waist. Definitely recommend version E/F, might make again…

skirt at Floradenew look 6245

Now I have a week’s leave ahead of me, (yee-haw)! Whilst I will be looking after Little Prince, I have three projects on the horizon (1) McCalls M6354, a simple Summer dress to make up in a retro rose cotton that I found for a song at a thrift shop (gorgeous gorgeous design); (2) New Look 6940 and (3) M6354 in a stylized Octopus print that I’d like to wear to my sons second birthday party in the top variation… (we are doing a pirate and princesses theme)… Oh, and I am making him another pair of shorts for his party in something suitably pirate-ish!

I have already started New Look 6940. I love the style which is reminiscent of the Seraphine dress that sold out after Kate Middleton wore it… the style is flattering and I have been so pleased with my progress with it that I hurried out today and bought some more stretchy knit in black, (the blue was a mystery fabric gift from fabricmart last year).

This is a particularly exciting garment for me because it is my first foray into the world of knits, which I admit I have been reluctant to dip my toe into! However, this pattern seems relatively fast and easy and I have really enjoyed playing around with my elna and its little discs (cams). For anyone who loves the elna SU and wants to try sewing with knits, CAM 142 does a beautiful job, particularly considering its not a serger- just don’t forget to do a tension swatch!

So.. what have you been sewing???

Inspired by Kate Middleton's Seraphine dress- made from a mystery knit I received from fabricmart in the US

Inspired by Kate Middleton’s Seraphine dress- made from a mystery knit I received from fabricmart in the US

For elna SU devotees, I used cam 142 (stretch knit stitch)... this image shows the seam on the wrong and right side... pretty pleased

For elna SU devotees, I used cam 142 (stretch knit stitch)… this image shows the seam on the wrong and right side… pretty pleased with the neat look on the “right” side

Next blog post, I shall continue my love affair with Claire McCardell fashion and style…

One thought on “Sunday bathtime… a mummy blogs and a seamstress dreams

Leave a Reply

