Vintage Vogue Dress 6196, drawstring neckline – simple sophistication…

I chanced upon this little gem recently and was wowed by the simple elegance which reminded me of the VOGUE COUTURIER 1587 dress by Simonetta… I was thrilled to examine the instructions to find the construction fairly basic with a few main pattern pieces. The dress would no doubt overlay a  pretty slip… So pretty me thinks, in black linen for day or night.

Timeless.

There are some patterns I buy because I like them and also their historical context…. there are others I adore and cannot wait to attempt…. this is the latter. I will probably start it right after my current whip-it-up project, a 1940s tea length Simplicity skirt 2024 which I am making up sans bustle in some vintage red and green plaid I have been hankering to use… if baby starts sleeping more, it might be completed before the end of the Summer! I thought I was being so original but a short peruse of the net and it seems Mr Vuitton is all over plaid at the moment and in tea length, no less.

Everything old is new. Who said that?

Leave a Reply

