McCalls 3621, dated 1956, sundress with feature pleat at neckline

Today’s pattern of the day is McCalls 3621 sundress which I ambitiously thought I could whip up before Christmas, for Christmas Day… again, like the sheath dress, I got stumped when I hit the facing step… partly because I endeavoured to alter the pattern slightly so had to think about whether to cut a new piece, alter the existing piece etc… and the vintage seam binding I ordered on etsy in a khaki to match the design arrived this afternoon. Throw in caring for a two month old baby, and you have a much slower progression on the project.

In the interim, I made the decision to buy Marian Corey’s book from a US bookseller… I mean, can you really have too many reference books??? Methinks not.

The fabric I have selected is bizarrely similar in pattern to one worn by one of the models- I found a lovely long swathe of crisp, light cotton, possibly lawn. It was big enough for a dress with a six gore skirt as with this dress… I fell in love with it because the unusual paisley design was so very retro… seventies… possibly sixties.

New vintage seam binding... woven edge rayon... hot off etsy...

Leave a Reply

