When old hat is chic again… pretty veils

Gloves and millinery. To think of the rise and fall of fortunes when once the well-heeled didn’t do without these things!

McCalls 2399 is a very pretty pattern for occasion veils. My favourite variation is in the top right hand corner of the pattern envelope. Funnily enough, there is an almost identical piece worn by a model in the Simplicity patterns November 1959 store catalogue (see the background photo). Yes, I own an actual store catalogue (original provenance stems from a store in De Moines, Iowa)! Much beloved is the catalogue, let me tell you! Constant source of fascination for me and I do actually use it to identify and trace vintage patterns I might like.

Veiled fancy

If anyone is keen to know, the two background dresses (which I don’t have) are Simplicity patterns 3184 and 3212.

Leave a Reply

