VOGUE 8981, casual, understated elegance… so many dresses, so little time

Well, its Monday. The cycle of the week begins again! Thank goodness for coffee. I can be grateful my morning laps are out of the way and there are a few hours before bub and I need to be anywhere.

I love the empire waistline version of Vogue 8981. This is yet another dress on my list of dresses to make… that list seems to grow every day! ha! This pattern was printed in 1957. I thought it was interesting that the pattern pieces were perforated (old style) AND printed… Recommended fabrics are shantung, cotton tweed, velveteen and tissue taffeta. The latter would be luxurious (in deep red or emerald green)?

Understated elegance... Vogue 8981

bnm

4 thoughts on “VOGUE 8981, casual, understated elegance… so many dresses, so little time

  1. I haven’t worked with velveteen, but the tissue taffeta might be pretty enough to be worth the trauma! I must admit I am drawn to a lot of patterns requiring linen. As I type I am looking at some plum satin and some gorgeous red brocade and trying to figure out which to make up for a dress for my sister-in-laws wedding and fabric ease (to work with) is foremost on my mind.

    It is a cutting night tonight!!!

Leave a Reply

