Fear of Frumpy… and Feminine Fashion

Well, another out of hours sewing opportunity arrived last night… who needs sleep anyway?!?! Ha! I managed to get around to basting/ sewing the reverse pleats on the front of the skirt of the Wedding Guest dress and I have to say, the folds of red satin look absolutely luxurious. The bodice which is half finished is on the dress form and I look at it wondering if I shouldn’t actually take a left turn here and do a completely different bodice… Could the bodice possibly turn out looking frumpy, beyond the help of even the greatest stiletto heels? Would it be a waste with such a beautiful skirt?

There is nothing lost in persevering at this point, the fabric has already been cut, so I shall, but I am very glad I ordered a couple of yards of extra fabric which I had planned to make a stole from. I could, in an “emergency” scenario, use that to make a new bodice from a different pattern… or see what I might create? I guess I will cross that bridge when I get to it.

How to Draw Feminine Fashions, the cover

I visited a market yesterday and luckily found and picked up a fabulous vintage resource called “How to Draw Feminine Fashions”(1950) by Charlotte H. Young. I used to love drawing and art in general… this book is geared toward the budding artist who wants to build a portfolio to show art directors and so forth. I imagine the artists who rendered the pretty illustrations on so many pattern covers would have turned to books like this. I love the images and ideas.

Va va voom... vintage style

Today’s pattern of the day has a bit of va-voom to it…. McCalls 5179, a 1950s dress designed by Hannah Troy. This is a dress with intention! Flaunting every curve, this dress is lined with an eight gore skirt… Troy, you may be aware, was credited with the innovative creation of “petite” sizes in dressmaking. This could never be called frumpy!

McCalls 5179... mega va-voom!

Leave a Reply

