Friday Night Lights with Vogue Couturier 186

Vogue Couturier 186, a slim coat with a notched collar

When I first stumbled upon Vogue Couturier 186, a slim coat with a notched collar (requiring hair canvas and muslin, for anyone who likes tailoring), I wasn’t totally sure I liked it. But it is a good simple coat pattern, I thought, especially given I am only beginning my adventures in the world of tailoring. I love the way I discovered it in Vogue Pattern Book (August-September 1959) as part of a feature on football weekend fashions… but I always prefer to see a made up version of a garment before reaching a decision about whether I like it or not. The chosen fabric gives it a somewhat Burberry flavour that appeals. An easy one to see the Betty Drapers of the world sporting, (excuse the pun)! And a definite show stopper in red tartan…

An appropriate pattern given that the State of Origin (rugby league) was on television last night. I didn’t watch it (uh… hello) but my hubby went and joined the boys for hotdogs and beer. Light beer, he tells me (wink).

 

Leave a Reply

