Sunglo Series 22 and the mystery of Miss Polly… the unknown dolly… do you know her?

There we were in “country” Australia. Like many other such towns it consisted of a long main street, a local park and playground and a few blocks of  low buildings on either side. The shop windows looked enticing except for the “we are closed” signs hanging at the doors. Bub was in my arms wrapped snugly in a blanket, I was the coldest I had been in forever, not expecting that a mere hour away from where we live, the temperature wasn’t just cold, it was glacial. I quickly felt like I was turning into an ice-block and was worried about Little Prince, who happily looked around, laughing at the cold gusts of windFaced with the reality that the first op shop we tried was in fact closed… all weekend… and that my ears were so cold I was no longer sure whether they were there, we quickly decided to move to plan B… a hot breakfast somewhere warm.

After asking around the local shopping complex, we found a café  a few blocks away, hidden behind the local church. It had one major sell factor… it had good heating! And there was cooo-ffee!!! After which the initial shopping failure didn’t seem so bad after all. I had dragged my husband and child an hour away on a treasure hunt, with the promise of nothing and the allure of the undiscovered …and the morning was looking bleak if not hypothermic.

Of course this is where hubby played hero. He scouted about for the next op shop, returned with directions and I was on my way. And there it was… the item I didn’t dare to dream, I might find…  The gem that made it all worthwhile… the forgotten pages buried beneath a stack of someone else’s would be treasure… SUN GLO Series 22…. Now my earliest pattern book by that manufacturer. I’ve never seen it before online or in any library or archive… and of course it was instantaneous love.

Today’s vintage find however was a mysterious doll relegated to dust on an op shop shelf. I know little about dolls, but this one looked old… any one out there want to hazard a guess about this one?!?! dates, maker, country of origin? I thought she looked very sweet and I love her painted shoes and socks. Not sure if she is bisque or porcelain, but she has a straight cloth body and a blonde wig. Her name, now, is Polly…. These aren’t her original clothes… The shoes look different to the 20-40s boudoir dolls… they are mary janes…

Leave a Reply

