The Oliver + S ice cream blouse- Part 2

Since my last post, I am on my fourth ice cream blouse- three in sizes 6-12 months and one in 12-18 months. Most are completed except for the sewing on of a button and I am still debating whether to do cloth covered buttons (always so stylish) or to just go with something simpler and straightforward. The button is at the back, it won’t be worn forever (I’ll be lucky for a few months wear, I bet)… but still… I want it all to look just so. Once I understood the pattern and got working on it, it was all really straightforward… clearly I liked it and promptly ordered a few more patterns from Purl Soho in New York ( they have a great sale on incidentally)!

For the benefit of those making this blouse I thought I would post a picture of one of the issues I came across whilst making the pattern… this was essentially failing to do the “vertical pull” trick at the underarm curve (see instructions) when making french seams. So the photo below is a picture of the lower blouse part where this has been done and where it hasn’t been done (the fabric was a very light, almost sheer lawn, FYI).

With and without a pull and a press!

With and without a pull and a press!

Whilst the puckers don’t disappear completely, pulling the seam after stitching and pressing it into submission certainly helped. I think the gathered front design also lends itself to disguising any apparent or slight imperfections (for those who love the clean finish of a french seam).

So I bring you two versions of the ice cream blouse… tada… The larger size is actually my favourite, however, I have to find what I have done with it… its grown legs!

Mustard ice cream dress

The ice cream dress in blossom covered lawn... so light and pretty!

The ice cream dress in blossom covered lawn… so light and pretty!

A side note, I had more trouble with the thicker cotton at the back where the two yoke pieces met the lower part of the bodice… am concerned this will fray more with time and not as neat as i would have liked.

The back of one of my blouses, I did the little snip in the instructions but still not as neat as I wanted...

The back of one of my blouses, I did the little snip in the instructions but still not as neat as I wanted…

In the background I am working on two other girls dresses, very similar styles. The second one is in a really cool Marcus Brothers juvenile 1930s reproduction fabric I picked up some years ago and that has been sitting patiently in my stash, waiting to be made into something beautiful… I have looked at a few designs I like on flickr, gone through my patterns to create a base sloper, sketched, altered and am close to finishing. It will be sized for a 12 month old. The second is a yellow girls dress that is quite similar (for a three year old) in stripes and pinwheels with ruffles… just waiting on some batiste as I decided to go the whole hog and make a lining for a nice finish.

The Marcus Brothers (Judith Rothermel) 1930s reproduction fabric for the one year old dress I am currently working on in the background... yummy!

The Marcus Brothers (Judith Rothermel) 1930s reproduction fabric for the one year old dress I am currently working on in the background… yummy!

With the new baby due in early September, every minute is precious, I feel like I am doing 2-3 things at any one time… I remember vividly the early days with my son, when the baby arrives, that will be my focus for a while. I’ll be lucky to even look at my sewing machine for the first few months and lucky to touch it in the first six!

Life beckons, so signing off for now… What are you sewing???

Leave a Reply

