Looking back for inspiration… party dresses and the like

So the sew-a-thon for our little girl continues, I think I have about 6-8 dresses in various sizes that I have in train and am finalising. I sew most days and on the days when I am tired, my little boy is a sleep and I don’t feel like sewing, I think “what if the baby came early???” This is enough to motivate me to get things progressed as far as possible and to sit a while at the machine. Let there be no unfinished object for those early dresses.

A girl's smock dress from 1965... Liberty "meadow" tana lawn fabric

A girl’s smock dress, the pattern, STYLE 4560 was from 1975… made here in a size 2 in Liberty “meadow” tana lawn fabric

STYLE 4560- love the girl's smock dress pattern... decided to omit the puff sleeves and stuck with a pretty flutter...

STYLE 4560- love the girl’s smock dress pattern… decided to omit the puff sleeves and stuck with a pretty flutter…

There are a couple that remain unfinished purely because I am waiting for some custom buttons- I have just put in an order with Pat Mahoney of Pat’s Custom Buttons and Belts… you just can’t beat the beauty of a handmade, wholly custom garment… I decided that it would be a shame to stop at the buttons. After all, the dresses will be treasured long after they cease to be worn.

So where do you find your inspiration? A pattern is a pattern, but from my perspective its how the pattern is made- fabric selection, trims etc that can really make it something special. I have been drawing quite a lot of inspiration from vintage children’s books… I love this Ladybird book “The Party (from the days when kids really dressed up and played party games like “hunt the thimble”)!

 

The Party- a Ladybird book full of gorgeous illustrations, girls dresses beautifully rendered and nostalgia...

The Party- a Ladybird book full of gorgeous illustrations, girls dresses beautifully rendered and nostalgia…

photo-10

 And on the “rest of life” front our roses are due to arrive from Treloar Roses today for planting this weekend… all David Austin blooms…another little side project that I want in place before little girl gets here. I certainly won’t have time to plant or do much more than a bit of pruning in the first couple of years!

 

 

Leave a Reply

