Kids Clothes Week- an homage to Enid Gilchrist

 

Kids Clothes Week this week... this is an image from Dick Bruna's book, "My Vest iS White"... Love his illustrations, so does my son!

Kids Clothes Week this week… this is an image from Dick Bruna’s book, “My Vest is White”… Love his illustrations, so does my son! we have a little collection of his books at our house…!

So the Kids Clothes Week challenge starts tomorrow and I have been thinking about what I wanted to make. I know I recently mentioned Enid Gilchrist, whose pattern books were extremely popular in Australia in the late 1940s through to the 1970s. I have quite  a collection of her pattern books and this does seem like a great opportunity to ensure that some of her legacy makes its away into my Little Girl’s wardrobe. Most of the garments I make in Kids Clothes Week will be her designs. Having had a browse this morning I have picked a few styles I like that I think will look cute and not too retro. Don’t get me wrong, I love retro, but not all retro fashion was awesome! Enid Gilchrist’s Baby book has the most garments that interest me so far, though there are some little tops for older kids in the some of the other pattern books I like too.

Enid Gilchrist... so many Australian women dressed their kids in her designs! The pattern books provide instructions on pattern drafting.

Enid Gilchrist… so many Australian women dressed their kids in her designs! The pattern books provide instructions on pattern drafting.

If you are looking for Enid Gilchrist’s pattern books, you can usually find them on ebay and if you are lucky at Book Fairs. Be weary of people selling her books on pdf format online from places such as etsy or ebay- if it looks like the pattern book post dates 1955, the rights for reproduction are not in the public domain and belong to the Gilchrist family. Unless a seller states they have their permission or reasonably believe the pattern book predates 1955, it is piracy. Just something to be aware of. There are quite a few floating around, so get your hands on a hard copy… the great thing is, sometimes the original owner has left their drafted patterns inside… sometimes, just sometimes… saves you bit of extra work.

Are you joint the Kids Clothes Week challenge? What are your sewing plans?

This was one of the easiest of Gilchrist's patterns- a little bib which I made in oil cloth for my son a couple of years ago...

This was one of the easiest of Gilchrist’s patterns- a little bib which I made in oil cloth for my son a couple of years ago when we went through the early self feeding, mega mess stage…!

Leave a Reply

