Kids Clothes Week (KCW) Day 3

Today’s KCW make for day 3 is Enid Gilchrist’s well known feeder which featured in most of her pattern books involving babies or layettes. I am sure it has been round since the late 1940s/ early 1950s…. a necessary garment!

A fairly simple design, I used quilting cotton for the body ( a little bit sturdier for the inevitable spills) and leftover Liberty lawn for the sleeves (well… why not)?? As I said in the last post, I just looove this Liberty fabric pattern… and I love red! 

Note: I first made this pattern a couple of years ago for my son in oil cloth- found it difficult to work with and challenging to clean the bias binding without laundering… stick to cotton- thats my two cents!

Enid Gilchrist's "feeder"- an enduring pattern

Enid Gilchrist’s “feeder”- an enduring pattern

Leave a Reply

