40s style bloomers and an Enid Gilchrist bib – Kids Clothes Week (KCW) Day 4

Enid Gilchrist bib- pattern has been published several times since the late 1940s

Enid Gilchrist bib- pattern has been published several times since the late 1940s

Enid Gilchrist bib- the other side... the bias binding was made using offcuts from the halter dress I made earlier in the week.

Enid Gilchrist bib- the other side… the bias binding was made using offcuts from the halter dress I made earlier in the week.

As I didn’t really get to sew much (in a progressive sense) until last night, I am a day behind with blogging my KCW “makes”. Yesterday I worked on two items: finishing a reversible bib which I made using a pretty simple Enid Gilchrist pattern and a pair of bloomers for a two year old using a vintage pattern in my collection. 

The reversible bib has quilting cotton on one side and left over dress cotton on the other… I really thought the bias binding (self made with the leftover remnants of that fun, retro inspired cotton) made it pop and hopefully it will be a versatile staple in Little Girl’s wardrobe. I really enjoy mixing patterns actually and this was no exception.

The 40s bloomers were pretty straightforward also, cut from vintage lawn I purchased a few years ago….I really love working with lawn, so light and easy to handle. I used elastic lace (also vintage) at the bottom leg cuffs. Thought these would be fun in Summer. This afternoon I just have to find some ribbon for a little bow to complete the girly girl look…!

1940s style bloomers- made form a vintage pattern in my collection.

1940s style bloomers- made form a vintage pattern in my collection.

Vintage elastic lace was added using a zig zag stitch...

Vintage elastic lace was added using a zig zag stitch… Don’t you just love this pretty floral? Wish I had more… so cute for the garden!

How are your KCW projects coming along? Hopefully I will have a couple of other things finished in the next couple of days but that hour is really proving quite hard to come by! This is my first KCW and I am finding it a great motivator!

Leave a Reply

