A Pocketful of vintage fashion love

Feautured in a 1950's Vogue magazine, this coat by Schiaparelli showcases some gorgeous pocket details. Incidentally, the coat was made into a Vogue Paris Original model

Feautured in a 1950’s Vogue magazine, this coat by Schiaparelli showcases some gorgeous pocket details. Incidentally, the coat was made into a Vogue Paris Original model

I was absolutely thrilled to discover Kenneth D King’s Craftsy class on pockets (including welt and double welt) and of course this ended up being a little Christmas present for myself.

Pockets are one of those things that I think can make or break an outfit, much like an accessory, really… if the pockets are horrendous, the whole garment takes on an unappealing look… if they are well done, they are a subtle support to the lead role: the overall garment’s design.

IMG_6770

I have started watching his class having tried to do welt pockets a few times on my own… I think its excellent to have the opportunity to see other people’s techniques and ever since, i have been looking at pockets with less horror and more a sense of challenge. In 2015 I would really like to get around to making myself a tweed suit or coat (with a baby that may be dreaming) but it doesn’t mean I can think it through, plan, and start the learning process to finalise my design decisions.I would also like to use some of my newly acquired pocket making skills to take my sewing for Little Miss M and the Little Prince to a whole new level.. why shouldn’t children’s garments be beautifully tailored and beautifully made. Its not my intention to compete with the muscle of a factory in China in terms of cost… but certainly in terms of quality, attention to detail… that is why I sew.

I have started going through some of my vintage patterns looking for some welt pockets to make up as “test pieces” but Mr King’s class also provides templates for practice.

Garment featured in a 1950s Vogue/ Harper's Bazaar magazine...

Garment featured in a 1950s Vogue/ Harper’s Bazaar magazine…

Garments featured in 1950s Vogue and Harper's Bazaar magazines... love these pocket details!

Garments featured in 1950s Vogue and Harper’s Bazaar magazines… love these pocket details!

A coat featured in  a1950s Vogue/ Harper's Bazaar magazine... sleek. Chic!

A coat featured in a1950s Vogue/ Harper’s Bazaar magazine… sleek. Chic!

IMG_6767

Leave a Reply

