Hello 2015! It was just a matter of time… custom buttons have arrived!

Liberty cloth covered buttons will be available soon on my etsy store... or I can always custom make something for you! :)

Liberty cloth covered buttons will be available soon on my etsy store… or I can always custom make something for you! 🙂 The illustration here is from a 1940s pattern catalogue in my collection.

Hurrah! My equipment has arrived from overseas! I will be adding Liberty cloth covered and custom made buttons to my etsy shop soon (VanessaLovesVintage) but can make these for anyone that wants something in a particular fabric or design, ($.90-1.50 each, minimum order $5 + shipping).

Currently I can make three sizes of buttons for dress and shirt use, including custom buttons for wedding dresses and special occasion clothes… I guess it was just a matter of time as my fav US based button maker retired!!! The thing is, once you start on custom buttons, you always want custom buttons. I know I have said this before but once you have made the investment of hours on a particular garment, the button choice seems to become as crucial as the overall fabric choice… Don’t you think? I have found they are also a great way to update a tired older garment with minimal effort.

The In Threes cardigan with Liberty mitsi (red) fabric covered buttons

The In Threes cardigan with Liberty mitsi (red) fabric covered buttons

I have been busy planning my buttons and fabrics for my next Geranium dress and a number of Oliver + S garments including the sailboat pants. Uber cute. Probably a mix of chambray, Birch organic and Liberty… Something for my boy and something for my girl, respectively.

What are you planning to sew for 2015? Does everyone else plan about 50 garments to make at one time like me??? My to-sew-list is always huge.

Happy New Year everyone. 🙂

Many of these are made from Liberty mauvey- a favourite Liberty lawn pattern of mine

Many of these are made from Liberty mauvey- a favourite Liberty lawn pattern of mine

Leave a Reply

