Lost treasures – Balmain, Dior, Schiaparelli couture dresses and coats galore!

Gorgeous images from La Femme Chic Dior is the dress in colour

Top left is Paquin. Top right is Balmain- love the gathered coat detail! Gorgeous images from La Femme Chic Dior is the dress in colour.. what a fabulous bodice!

One of the gifts that Santa brought me this last Christmas was a book called “Listography”… as I love lists! I took a look at it today and one of the suggestions was to list my “guilty pleasures.” I don’t tend to feel guilty about things to choose to indulge in, but one of my greatest non-family related pleasures would have to be looking through my collection of vintage fashion magazines for inspiration.

I have a number of bound volumes that I treasure, most notably from 1950s France… one of the titles is La Femme Chic. No matter what kind of day I have had- a cup of wine or a good coffee and a few minutes time to peruse (rare in the world of baby care) and I feel rather zen. And more than a little inspired! (Big buttons…! Cool pockets…! Sigh)!

Dress details- a design by worth...

Dress details- a design by worth…

Schiaparelli... always delicious.

Schiaparelli… always delicious.

Leave a Reply

