A Jacques Heim jacket- early to mid 1960s- bound buttonholes galore

Love beautiful garments with fine details? Aspire to the kind of finish that might be expected in a couture house or high end boutique?

Unfortunately, I don’t have the budget to buy loads of couture, but I do think that if anyone is interested in fine sewing and learning about techniques, it does help to have a few examples on hand to study. I have about 6-7 items that I have collected over time that use techniques I really like. (I guess that is still a “collection”, albeit a very minute one)! This early-mid 60s Jacques Heim jacket is one of them. Beautifully lined, a two piece sleeve and for the most part pattern matched… it features gorgeous bound buttonholes that I thought I would share in case anyone else wanted to see how such a garment looked and was finished. Heim is one of my fav 40s-60s designers alongside Griffe, Fath, Schiaparelli and McCardell (to name a few)! Heim did license a number of designs as Vogue Paris Original patterns during this era.

An early to mid 1960s, plaid jacket with bound buttonholes, silk lining and catch stitched label

An early to mid 1960s, plaid jacket with bound buttonholes, silk lining and catch stitched label… adore these details. Bound buttonholes are uber classy. The top right image shows how the bound buttonhole was finished from the interior (facing)- Shaeffer demonstrates this in “Tailoring Tcehniques” which is excellent value for money given it includes a DVD with the book…

Claire Shaeffer has produced a great Tailoring Techniques book that features the bound buttonhole if anyone is looking for another great resource, to yield professional resource. I was watching it last night whilst feeding my little girl! 🙂 Here is an interesting podcast if you are interested in what Claire is all about but her book Couture Sewing is a must have… I also sometimes refer back to her first book, The Complete Book of Sewing Shortcuts which was focused more on high end ready to wear, than couture.

5 thoughts on “A Jacques Heim jacket- early to mid 1960s- bound buttonholes galore

  1. I love seeing that Jacques Heim! I had a beautiful 50s tea-length gown of his at one point, with silk roses printed on it and three bows across the back. It was a work of art! Wishing you and your family a happy new year!

    • Glad you like it. The dress you describe sounds absolutely gorgeous Julie! I have a few 60s dress patterns by Heim in my collection- they just dressed with style in that time- classic and eternal and tasteful! Happy New Year to you and your family also! 😀

Leave a Reply

