Romperlicious… Springtime and a visit to Kangaroo Valley, Berry and Seven Mile Beach

Its been a while since I blogged I know but the household has been very busy since my second born made her entry into the world. Sewing has been happening but very slowly… glacially… incrementally! But it has been happening and with my daughter’s first birthday I had set myself a deadline to finish a few things. We had booked a few nights away in the Kiama area on the coast… about 2.5 hours from Canberra and a stones throw, really, from Kangaroo Valley, Berry and Seven Mile beach.

lavendar

The first dress to show off was a dress for little Miss M’s birthday itself. Daddy couldn’t get the day off work so we called Grandma on our way to a pretty Garden nursery in Piallago here in Canberra that emulates something of a dream garden. I told my husband I wanted to move there. The set up is excellent with a great little playground and forethought enough to put an outdoor water station for thirsty parents. We sat in the early Spring sunshine and dreamt of Summer. The “birthday dress” was a 1970s Style pattern which I had played up with some chintz and red rick rack… I wanted the rick rack to peep out from the yoke and sleeves like little petals… What do you think? i was really happy with the effect.

The

The “petal dress” … 2015 does 70s, 70s does 50s!

sporting Grandma's sun hat... still a little big!!!

sporting Grandma’s sun hat… still a little big!!!

The second outfit was a 1950s pattern- a romper which I adapted using KAM snaps at the back and loads and loads of ruffle for the skirt- I didn’t skimp there and let me tell you, with price of Liberty lawn it can be tempting but this is a dress I want to keep for my daughter when she is older… I put a lot of time into it, I finished it with french seams and adapted the pattern so the legs area wouldn’t bunch… Here it is being worn on Seven Mile Beach. I love these photos of my children…

The Liberty romper... my kids enjoy early morning sunshine on Seven Mile beach...

The Liberty romper… my kids enjoy early morning sunshine on Seven Mile beach…

Here you can see the KAM snaps, they worked fine but obviously using lawn there was a layer of interfacing between the lining and bodice pieces. I used lawn for the lining also,

Here you can see the KAM snaps, they worked fine but obviously using lawn there was a layer of interfacing between the lining and bodice pieces. I used lawn for the lining also. I liked the ties at the shoulder because I loosen them as she grows.

romper

Finally, another 50s pattern which has a popular type of construction from the 40s and 50s made in mint seersucker. I drew on a lot of mail order catalogs from the era in making my design choices. Again the pattern was customised and instead of the massive ruffles in the original pattern I gather alternating rows of eyelet lace from my stash with more petite seersucker ruffles. It was actually a little big for her but its something she can wear more comfortably towards the end of the coming Summer.

Love the back of this one! But I would (will) make a bolero to match because the sun can get pretty hot...

Love the back of this one! But I would (will) make a bolero to match because the sun can get pretty hot…

The front of the mint romper... customised from a Butterick pattern

The front of the mint romper, accessorised with sand! of course!… customised from a 50s Butterick pattern

For anyone thinking about visiting the area, I highly recommend it. Stop at a cafe in Berry on the way… enjoy Seven Mile Beach. RELAX! And if you kids, make sure you visit the Kiama blow hole, our three year old son was enthralled! There is also the Little Blow Hole not too far away, less spectacular but just as much fun little ones who may not like the crowds.

Seven Mile Beach ... early morning

Seven Mile Beach … early morning

IMG_7504

Leave a Reply

