Mad mad mad for 40s fashion… with a cherry on top

There has been a great interest of late in 50s and 60s fashions with the airing of MAD MEN, but I must admit, I also adore some of the designs which were fashionable in the 1940s. As such todays pattern is a 1940s knitting pattern produced in Australia. Oh, two patterns, why not!  If your  ever read my blog, you’ll be aware I love both sewing and knitting (though I have been putting myself through a few courses online of late to learn couture sewing).

But back in the day, knitting was an equally important skill, trade for cheap machine made knitted garments isn’t what it is today. I generally only sell 40s and 50s designs at my etsy store (VanessaLovesVintage) because of Australian copyright laws. If you see someone selling Australian reproduction sewing or digital knitting patterns post 1955, I’d say be careful, they may knowingly or unknowingly be in breach of Aussie copyright law.

Anyhooo… here are two patterns today… shameless plug, they are both available in epattern format at my etsy store! “Cherry on top” is one of my favourites… as soon as Little Prince is a bit older I plan to get this one on the needles… well, I hope so anyway! 😉 I like the buttons on the shoulder on the second design… I think the feature at the neckline is nice too, doesn’t make it toooooo much lace and provides a bit of a focal point…. What do you think?!?

Image

Image

<script type=’text/javascript’ src=’http://www.etsy.com/assets/js/etsy_mini_shop.js’></script><script type=’text/javascript’>new Etsy.Mini(6522062,’gallery’,4,3,0,’http://www.etsy.com&#8217;);</script>

2 thoughts on “Mad mad mad for 40s fashion… with a cherry on top

  1. Great Glam alive! I love the shots. I dig the sweaters and the swell sunglasses. T. (I’m with you. I’m definitely a 1930s-1940s gal. I’d like to learn how to create a “Victory Roll.” Have you tried the do?)

    • No, not tried the victory roll… I have no clue how they achieved that look. A feat of modern hairstyling! Not sure if they had gel back then either… LOL. I bet they used egg white…. I’d almost put money on it! Ha

Leave a Reply

